Posted in Digital Literacy, Uncategorized

Surveys, Spams, Scams–Pretty Much The Same Thing

Surveys are often seen as an opportunity to make some quick cash in a minute or two. It’s easy! You just answer a few quick questions, and voila! Some quick cash! Except, YOU are the real loser in the end!

Surveys are taken by almost everyone who has a laptop, iPod, or some sort of device where such Wi-Fi and internet are possible. Everyone loves the fun of answering a few weird questions, and the excitement bubbling up inside of you knowing that you’re about to get a 500 dollar gift card to Walmart, or an iPhone 6, or a new iPad mini, and so on.

But then you wait. Then you wait even longer, and longer, and even more so! You keep waiting for this stupid survey to be over so that you can get the money, and be DONE!

A few people can actually do that, though. Take one of those surveys that is called the “1 Minute Survey,” and then end up spending an hour answering stupid questions, that will do nothing but help that company try to sell products to you, and your family!

This one person tried to do surveys for some extra pocket money, and did it for a week, and made 0.37 every hour. Press on me to read about it!

After wasting your time for hours, clicking buttons, when you could be doing something so much better, you might end up with 0.37. Yay. Imagine doing that for a week, an hour a day! You’d make it out with 2.59. You can now go buy a candy bar, before you start the next survey…

StartSurvey_Button

I used to love taking those surveys when I was younger… On Sims, for my iPod, I once spent an hour answering all of these weird questions so that I could get a few coins or something, and eventually quit. I had been lying around for an hour answering these stupid questions for a few points, and ended up getting nothing. There goes 60 minutes of my life I’ll never get back…

I also used to desperately want an iPhone, so when I was younger as well, I signed up for about a million iPhone contests, and every single one, I had to enter my email. Woopsies. So I got spammed after that. My email has been given out all over, and that’s why I had to start a whole new email. Great.

Surveys, Spams, Scams, are usually the same thing! Tricks, fools, and lies! I learned that the hard way. The internet can be great like we’ve been learning all about, but it can also be cruel.

We need to be more careful…

2 thoughts on “Surveys, Spams, Scams–Pretty Much The Same Thing

Leave a comment